Special Conference: China's Next Decade

Wednesday, March 13, 2013
Beijing, China

Academic Committee
Honorary President: Alvin E. Roth
President: Edmund S. Phelps
Vice Presidents: Hongjun Yu, Zhiyi He, Jianguo Wang


Monday, March 18th:

General Address

  • Hongjun Yu
  • Alvin E. Roth


  • Edmund S. Phelps


  • Glenn R. Hubbard: Undergirding the Innovation and Growth
  • Yifu Lin: Potential Comparative Advantages, Industrial Policies and Economic Development
  • Edmond Alphandéry: Euro Crisis, Act III
  • Shiyu Liu: Financial Industry Development and Risk Control for China in the Next Decade
  • Edmund S. Phelps: The Importance of Grassroots Innovation for a Nation's Mass Prosperity
  • Gylfi Zoega: On the Sources of China's Economic Growth: Dynamism versus Investment
  • Amar Bhide: The Institutional Foundation for Inclusive Innovation
  • Jianguo Wang: China Economic Model and Reform
  • Richard Robb: Contribution of Financial Institutions to National Innovation in China, Germany and America
  • Raichoh Bojilov: Career Choice and Economic Innovation
  • Zhiyi He: Study on National Innovation Index

Dinner speaker

  • Chen Fashu

Tuesday, March 19th:

  • Alvin E. Roth: Market Design: How Might the U.S. Experience Be Relevant to China?
  • Yew-Kwang Ng: Sustain Economic Growth and Social Welfare
  • Qiren Zhou: China's Urban and Rural Areas: Build-up of Liquidity and Economic Growth
  • Robert Z. Aliber: Structural Re-Balancing in a High Savings Economy
  • Shengzu Gu: Making Innovation the New Drive to Change the Economic Development Mode
  • Shangquan Gao: Creating a Market Environment for Fair Competition

Roundtable One

  • Host: Edmund S. Phelps

Speakers: Alvin E. Roth, Yew-Kwang Ng, Xiaohua Qiu, Jianguo Wang, Qiren Zhou, Boqiang Lin, Sun Zhengyu

  • Xiaohua Qiu: Chinese Model: Make Increment Drive Stock Breakthrough
  • Boqiang Lin: Global Energy Challenges and China's Response

Roundtable Two

  • Host: Edmund S. Phelps

Speakers: Alvin E. Roth, Amar Bhide, Robert Z. Aliber, Siwei Cheng, Yew-Kwang Ng, Jianguo Wang, Qiren Zhou, Xiaohua Qiu, Boqiang Lin

Conference closing speech: Siwei Cheng