17th Annual Conference: Progressivism, Socialism, Nationalism


The Center on Capitalism and Society is pleased to announce its 17th annual conference: 


Progressivism, Socialism, Nationalism: 

What Room for Innovation and ‘Creative Destruction’? 

For Economic Justice to the Least Advantaged?

For Teaching Youth the Good Life?


The conference will be held Monday, October 7th at Columbia University's Italian Academy. (Luncheon and Dinner at Faculty House.)

Click here to register


Confirmed panelists and discussants:

Binyamin Appelbaum, New York Times Editorial Board, former New York Times Washington correspondent

Heather Gautney, Associate Professor of Sociology, Fordham University and Senior Policy Advisory to Bernie Sanders

Pinelopi Goldberg, Professor of Economics, Yale University and Chief Economist, World Bank Group (Luncheon speaker)

Jeffrey Gordon, Richard Paul Richman Professor of Law, Columbia University

Jonathan Haidt, Thomas Cooley Professor of Ethical Leadership, New York University Stern School

Senator Joshua Hawley, United States Senator from Missouri (Dinner speaker)

Douglas Holtz-Eakin, President of the American Action Forum

Hian Teck Hoon, Professor of Economics and Associate Dean, School of Economics, Singapore Management University

Charles KolbFormer President of the Committee for Economic Development

Margaret Levi, Director of the Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences (CASBS) at Stanford and Professor of Political Science, Stanford University

Leif Pagrotsky, Former Swedish Minister of Commerce, Minister of Enterprise and Innovation, Minister of Culture and Consul General of Sweden in New York

Edmund Phelps, Winner of the 2006 Nobel Prize in Economics and Director, Center on Capitalism and Society at Columbia University

Thomas Philippon, Professor of Finance, New York University Stern School of Business, author of The Great Reversal: How America Gave Up on Free Markets

Michelle Pannor Silver, Assistant Professor, Department of Sociology and Interdisciplinary Centre for Health and Society, University of Toronto

Joseph Stiglitz, Winner of the 2001 Nobel Prize in Economics, University Professor at Columbia University and Chief Economist at the Roosevelt Institute

Bhaskar Sunkara, Founding Editor and Publisher, Jacobin magazine

Andreas Wimmer, Lieber Professor of Sociology and Political Philosophy, Columbia University

Gylfi Zoega, Professor of Economics, University of Iceland and Birkbeck College, University of London


Agenda to follow. For questions, please contact Lizzie Feidelson at ef2496@columbia.edu or 212-851-0260.